Who are the Mets?

The New York Mets Baseball is a professional baseball team in the United States of America based in the Queens borough of New York City. It is one of the most popular teams in the country and play in the East Division of the National League of Major League Baseball.

It is one of the two big Major League Baseball clubs that are based in the city, the other being the New York Yankees. The Mets are one of the first expansion teams of Major League Baseball and was founded in 1962 to fill the vacuum created by the departure of New York’s other teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Giants.

As a tribute to the two departed teams, the New York Mets Baseball team has incorporated the blue of the Dodgers and the orange of the Giants into their uniform. In their debuts season in the league, the Mets finished with a record of 40-120, the worst record ever in the league since it went into the 162-game a season format.

In fact, the Mets never finished higher than second last till 1969 when the team nicknamed the Miracle Mets caused one of the biggest upsets in sporting history to beat the Baltimore Orioles to win the World Series. It was an impressive batting performance by the Mets.

Since then, the New York Mets Baseball has played in three more World Series finals, losing a close series to the Oakland Athletics, beating the Boston Red Sox to win their second title in 1986 and a Subway Series loss to bitter cross-town rivals the New York Yankees in the 2000 World Series.

The Mets currently play in the Citi Field stadium in New York and is managed by Terry Collins. The team has won four National League pennants and five East Division titles along the way as well.